Emily's Media Center

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Guest blogger 2 April 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — eroche1 @ 11:02 pm

Once again I am going to use Meghan Beytagh as my guest blogger of the week. Awhile back Meghan wrote some advice on internships. I need this advice and I am sure others would love some too. Here is a link to her blog and a copy of the blog post! Hope you enjoy! Thanks so much Meghan!

March 29, 2010…6:50 pm

Internship Advice

Jump to Comments

At most universities, before you can complete your public relations degree you must do an internship. An internship allows you to have a firsthand account working within the public relations field while still obtaining college credits. I am doing my internship over this coming summer and have been “hired” at Abshire Public Relations and Marketing in Savannah, Georgia. One person that I talked briefly about internships with is named Kara. She interned at Abshire Public Relations and Marketing while she was obtaining her degree at Armstrong University and now works at Abshire Public Relations and Marketing. The other person that I have talked to about this is Brittany Cook who is a soon to be Georgia Southern University graduate and did her Public Relations internship last summer.  

Brittany told me that one of the hardest things about completing your internship is finding a location that will “hire” you. I know at Georgia Southern University, we have an “approved list” of locations and can also request a different location. One thing that does help with this process is networking!

 A lot of the people that I have talked to also told me that making sure that the place in which you do your internship is also very important. You want to make sure that your site/company fits your career goals. One example that was given to me was that if you want to do event planning and hate social media then getting an internship where you are doing nothing but working with social networking sites isn’t the place for you to go. One other thing that you want to be aware of is…”is the location is going to help me build your portfolio?” You want to be able to actually work and learn. Not just sit there and do nothing. These are just a few tips for completing a public relations internship. Good Luck!

 

Leave a Reply

